Fatherville Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Letting Go of Children Who Don't Want to see You Anymore  (Read 17424 times)

LoveRespect

• View Profile
Letting Go of Children Who Don't Want to see You Anymore
« on: April 01, 2007, 09:42:25 AM »

Hi Everybody,
I have been fighting this for about seven years and get tired and alone with this. My daughters are 15 - 16 on 5/1/07 with all the typical messy/painful divorce issues and some extraordinary.

Mother told them they didn't have to talk to me and that a judge would support this at the time of separation (they were 9) - she made it stick - a fight to parent at all. She prevailled over all the legal fights to get them in counseling with me.

Way too many things to write - especially for someone who doesn't type.

My children live 18 miles away and come to my town with their friends every week - but don't want to talk to me. They won't tell me about school activities, so I can come - I know very little about them. I do my best to see them from a distance and will send them emails.

I do have a therapist, but no support group available. My question is how do I move through this pain - loss and letting go.

How have other fathers survived this loss like a death with no ending?

Please let me know if this is too heavy for this forum?

Thanks,
Love and Respect - LoveRespect

FuzzyDolly

• View Profile
Re: Letting Go of Children Who Don't Want to see You Anymore
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2007, 12:29:39 PM »

My parents were divorced when I was 13 months old. All my life I heard stories about how my father didn't want anything to do with me, no one knew where he lived, and how useless he was when he was around for that first year. I was told the reason for the divorce was that he had impregnated another woman and that I had a 1/2 brother that was less than a year younger than I was.